Priceless

Yesterday, while I was getting  my tank filled up at a Petron Station in Quezon Ave., I noticed some European cars parked at the service bay. Before I knew it, my feet already dragged me within a few meters from these awesome pieces of automotive wonder. There was moment of silence. A kind of silence that only a hot girl riding a horse could bring. The moment was momentarily cut short by the gasoline boy’s mandatory spiel. From afar he shouted, “Sir, sero-sero! wantawsan diesel. Tapos na!”

The mechanic on the service bay flashed a hand on the gasoline boy, which probably meant like “Ina mo ka, huwag kang gagad.” The mechanic approached me and we had a little chit-chat. I found out that they offer reasonable packages for change oil and mechanical services. And since the gas station is no more than a year old since its grand opening, everything from the hydraulic lift to the wrenches still has that brand new look and feel. To cut the story short, I decided to have my truck’s oil changed with the semi synthetic oil package. I was planning to have my truck get its oil change after my next pay check but since I was already in the midst of a good deal, I said what the hell. In Zeus’ voice “Let’s do this!”

Tang woke me up this morning. We had the usual breakfast he takes out every Monday morning at a Macdo in NLEX. We called Ma while having breakfast, and we had the same discussion we had yesterday about my suicide job. I placated her by assuring that I will get at least six hours of sleep during the night shift. I noticed Buningning was also getting rowdy with someone over the phone. Later on, she approached me and explained that she needs to send some money to her relatives in the province. The outflow of cash over this weekend made the perfect excuse to use Master Card’s famous ad:

Semi-synthetic Change Oil = 2260
Air Filter = 700
Fuel Filter = 1000
Engine Flushing = 160
Groceries = 1500
Bale ni Buningning = 4000
Criss-crossing this urban jungle with a healthy engine = Priceless
Happiness of Buningning’s relatives = Priceless

2 thoughts on “Priceless

Leave a Reply

