Hit and Run

Oct. 26, 2010

Ms. Jill Harvel
President, Metro-Heights Homeowners Association
Brgy. Culiat, Quezon City

Dear Ms. Harvel:

I parked my vehicle on the curbside in front of my house (No. 18, Andrew) before 10:00 pm on Oct. 25. On the morning of the next day, I found its right-side front bumper, headlight and park light badly damaged.

It was clear that another vehicle was the culprit. Shards of that vehicle’s broken lights were still at the scene. The guard on duty saw a trail of tiny fragments about a meter long. The guard promised to make a report and conduct an investigation.

After informing the guard, I then proceeded to the house of Mr. Ponchit Miranda to report the incident.

A community like ours functions on rules and basic civility. If I were the culprit, I would report an incident like that to guard and own it up. But no one showed up to own up the responsibility.

Because ours is a gated community with guards that I help pay for , I have the right to ask this question: Is there a redress for my grievance? Or, would the MHA just shrug off the incident and say “stuff happens.”

You have to address grievances such as mine. If not, we don’t even have the right to call Metro-Heights a community and lay down a set of rules and expect a life of order and basic civility.

Thank you.

Very truly yours,

Marlen V. Ronquillo

No.18 Andrew

Leave a Reply

