Out of Nothing

If you had watched several episodes the popular anime Full Metal Alchemist, you  are probably familiar with Edward’s monologue which he delivers before the opening theme song. It goes something like the paragraph below which I got from the third link of my Google search.

“Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of equal value must be lost. That is alchemy’s first law of Equivalent Exchange. In those days, we really believed that to be the world’s one, and only truth.”

I was a sucker for the series, not only for its powerful lines that makes you think about the metaphysical aspect of our life but also for the brotherly love between Edward and Alphonse, willing to sacrifice their life and cross parallel dimensions for each other.

Until one fateful Sunday morning changed everything I thought about the series. I was doing my usual habit of hopping radio stations while waiting for the green light, when I heard the line “Out of nothing at all, makin’ na na na and so on…” I had gone past 3 stations when I realized that I need to get back to the channel and listen more to the song. My mind was battered with what I heard, feeling close to having an intra-cerebral hemorrhage. I came to class still agitated, I was thinking about the song I heard, if I heard it right in the first place.

After a quick search in Google, I found out the song was entitled MAKING LOVE OUT OF NOTHING AT ALL, by Air Supply. I hastily clicked on the link to YouTube and listened to the song.

“Out of nothing at all, na na na”

Leave a Reply

